By Chuck Springston
President Barack Obama and President Bill Clinton.
President Barack Obama and President Bill Clinton.

George Washington was elected without being part of a political party.  

    But early on, parties began to form. Every other president can be identified as either a Federalist, a Democratic-Republican, a Democrat, a Whig or a Republican. Here, the U.S. presidents are listed chronologically with party affiliation and age when sworn into office.

1. George Washington, no political party, 57
2. John Adams, Federalist, 61
3. Thomas Jefferson, Democratic-Republican, 57
4. James Madison, Democratic-Republican, 57
5. James Monroe, Democratic-Republican, 58
6. John Quincy Adams, Democratic-Republican, 57
7. Andrew Jackson, Democratic, 61
8. Martin Van Buren, Democratic, 54
9. William Henry Harrison, Whig, 68
10. John Tyler, Whig, 51
11. James K. Polk, Democratic, 49
12. Zachary Taylor, Whig, 64
13. Millard Fillmore, Whig, 50
14. Franklin Pierce, Democratic, 48
15. James Buchanan, Democratic, 65
16. Abraham Lincoln, Republican, 52
17. Andrew Johnson, Democratic, 56
18. Ulysses S. Grant, Republican, 46
19. Rutherford B. Hayes, Republican, 54
20. James A. Garfield, Republican, 49
21. Chester A. Arthur, Republican, 51
22. Grover Cleveland, Democratic, 47
23. Benjamin Harrison, Republican, 55
24. Grover Cleveland, Democratic, 55
25. William McKinley, Republican, 54
26. Theodore Roosevelt, Republican, 42
27. William Howard Taft, Republican, 51
28. Woodrow Wilson, Democratic, 56
29. Warren G. Harding, Republican, 55
30. Calvin Coolidge, Republican, 51
31. Herbert Hoover, Republican, 54
32. Franklin D. Roosevelt, Democratic, 51
33. Harry S. Truman, Democratic, 60
34. Dwight D. Eisenhower, Republican, 62
35. John F. Kennedy, Democratic, 43
36. Lyndon B. Johnson, Democratic, 55
37. Richard Nixon, Republican, 56
38. Gerald R. Ford, Republican, 61
39. Jimmy Carter, Democratic, 52
40. Ronald Reagan, Republican, 69
41. George H. W. Bush, Republican, 64
42. Bill Clinton, Democratic, 46
43. George W. Bush, Republican, 54
44. Barack Obama, Democratic, 47
45. Donald Trump, Republican, 70

       Note: The style chosen for the presidents’ names (use of middle names, middle initials, nicknames) is the one the presidents used in signing official documents, with a few exceptions, including the signatures J.Q. Adams, W. H. Harrison, U.S. Grant, R.B. Hayes and Wm. H. Taft. The styles used for their names are the forms that have become traditional for those five presidents.
       The 41st president signed his name “George Bush,” but is now commonly known as George H.W. Bush, to distinguish him from son George W. Bush, the 43rd president.
       The 42nd president used “William J. Clinton” on formal documents, but wrote “Bill Clinton” on other papers during his presidency, and that is the form commonly used for him.
      The 45th president uses “Donald J. Trump” as his formal signature but is generally “Donald Trump” in news accounts.      


      Quick Study: Who was the youngest president?

      If you would like to comment, give us a shout, or like us on Facebook and tell us what you think.